Welcome to the Cycle Chat - Motorcycle Chat for Harley Davidson & V-Twin Motorcycle Enthusiasts forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

 
Go Back   Cycle Chat - Motorcycle Chat for Harley Davidson & V-Twin Motorcycle Enthusiasts > CycleChat's Motorcycle Hangout > Motorcycle Technical Forums
Register FAQTop Posters Site Rules Members Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Motorcycle Technical Forums For all things technical and performance related, this is the place to ask your questions and provide tips and tricks.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
------------ ------------
  #1  
Old 04-19-2007
dvsmind98
 
Posts: n/a
Cool Brake Light Switch Problem

First, Hello to everyone!
Now to my problem. I've just installed new switch housings and switch caps on my Sportster. Everything was going well until the Front brake switch wasn't working. I did use the cardboard trick on the brake lever to help protect the switch. Everything came apart easily and reassembled easily but now the switch isn't working. I don't believe I pinched a wire, although I suppose it is posssible. Could it be that I've blown a fuse or something? Has anyone had this problem before and could you give me some advice?
Thanks
dvsmind98
Reply With Quote

------------ ------------
  #2  
Old 04-22-2007
ghostflamed
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

I may have a similar problem but not sure. I just changed my front and rear brake cables on my 2006 Wide Gkide to braided lines (install was pretty straight ahead and went smoothly) but I am noticing now that the front brake does not activate the brake light. I'm actually not sure if it was working before the switch to braided cables as the bike is new.

What's the "cardboard trick" you mention? Any ideas on what's going on? I assume the front brake should activate the brake light same as the rear?

An help from the group is appreciated.

Curt
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #3  
Old 04-22-2007
Dirty Bill
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

Well,I've been chasing the same problem for a week now. I put 13" bars on,instlled all new cables. The front brake does activate the stop lights.

The switch is held in by the brake lever.When you squeeze it,it lets the switch open(push out) which closes the circut and turns on the lights.When you let the brake lever go,it pushes the switch back in,opening the circut,shuting off the lights.

What I found on mine today was the wire had gone loose inside the switch itself.It's a molded unit,almost impossible to fix.I will have to buy a new switch tomorrow.

Yes,there is also a fuse,in your fuse block,which could blow if you pinched a wire. I would check that first. It's a small 15 amp fuse.
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #4  
Old 04-22-2007
ghostflamed
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

Good explanation Bill. I appreciate the insight. I gotta say that so far I am a little testy about some minor niggles on this bike that are ticking me off. Seems like stuff breaks purty easy. Dang...my BMW has almost 50,000 trouble free miles on her. My new HD has 1000 miles on her and a couple of factory recalls, clearcoat damage on the tank from a faulty gasket and now this switch crappin' out on me? Hmmmm.
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #5  
Old 04-23-2007
ghostflamed
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

Would the darned switch go out just from pumping the brake to get the new braided lines installed and pumped up with fluid? cause that's all I did on this install and now my brake light won't come on!
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #6  
Old 04-23-2007
Skippy38's Avatar
Skippy38 Offline
Is developing high concentrations of Iron in his/her Butt
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Gender: male
Posts: 499
My Mood:
Skippy38 is on a distinguished road
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

Try using a multimeter or a hot light to see if you have power on the brake switch line. Now of course do this after you check the fuse. But you could have grounded out the switch easy to do and like Bill said they are 1 peice units (really cheaply made if you ask me) But if you have power on the line and it is in phase with the open v closed circut then you need to look at the wire all the way from the housing to terminating end. You could have a skinned wired that is grounding out or crowbaring. Do you notice any other electrical issues or is it only the front brake? If it is, break the issue or area up in sections to troubleshoot. Wiring can run you crazy sometimes.. hope this helps..........
__________________
MY GALLERY
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #7  
Old 04-23-2007
dvsmind98
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

thanks for all the advise. I took the housing appart again and messed with the switch the other day. I got it to flash the brake lights on only once and the nothing. After all the fuses were checked, I decided " What the hell...." and cut the wires because I have a new switch on order anyways. Stripped the wires and connected them. A- Ha! The brake light came on and my conclusion: I broke the switch on assembly. Didn't think they were that fragile. I'll be more carefull on the second attempt.
Dean
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #8  
Old 04-23-2007
r.k.mike's Avatar
r.k.mike Offline
Thinks Formal Black Attire Means Chaps and a Vest
Supreme Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: canada
Gender: male
Posts: 3,210
My Mood:
r.k.mike has a spectacular aura aboutr.k.mike has a spectacular aura about
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

glad you solved your little problem...welcome to cc....
Reply With Quote
Arcade
Challenge r.k.mike in the Arcade!
------------ ------------
  #9  
Old 04-26-2007
Mayberry
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

Wow-sounds like a common problem. I put new grips on the Sportster back in the fall & got the same problem shortly thereafter. Haven't gotten around to fixing it yet, I don't ride it too much now that I have the Fatty.
Reply With Quote
------------ ------------
  #10  
Old 11-04-2007
wideglide04
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Brake Light Switch Problem

These front brake lite switches are truely cheap..any time I add new cables or take off the housing I need a new switch......also upon the switch failing they will not ignight the Kuyryken Run Turn Stop module..( lack of power it seems)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many group posters does it take to change a Harley light bulb?[/ CHess Humor 14 12-18-2011 02:02
New Brake Lever and Brakelight Switch rotoruder Do It Yourself 9 04-22-2010 08:30
How Many Bikers on a Forum Does it Take to Change a Light Bulb? IndyTwin Humor 11 05-15-2007 07:08
Brake Light Problem n2hispower Wheels, Tires & Brakes 7 11-29-2006 06:48
sidecar brake problem donaldw1 Wheels, Tires & Brakes 1 06-15-2006 10:32


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003-2008 www.CycleSpot.com All rights reserved
The opinions and beliefs in posts are those of the poster and do not necessarily reflect those of the site owners